2008 Program

2nd Coalition Scientific Conference
In Association with the 2008 ACVP/ASVCP Annual Meeting
Salon del Rey Central Ballroom
Hilton Palacio del Rio
San Antonio, Texas
Saturday, November 15, 2008


  Conference materials will be available at the meeting room

7:30-8:00 am Continental breakfast
8:00-8:20 am Welcome and Introductory Comments, Dr. Gary Cockerell (Director of the Coalition)
8:20-8:40 am Dr. Angela Pillatzki, “Hepatic Element Concentrations in Spring Migrating Lesser Scaup in the Upper Midwest”
Training Inst (Mentor): Iowa State University (Dr. Ron Myers)
Sponsors (Mentors): Charles River Labs (Dr. Larry Arp) and Wyeth (Dr. Rick Perry)
8:40-9:00 am Dr. Will Sims, “Bartonella henselae-Associated Systemic Inflammation in a Dog”
Training Inst (Mentor): Texas A&M University (Dr. Brian Porter)
Sponsor (Mentor): GlaxoSmithKline (Dr. Brian Berridge)
9:00-9:20 am Dr. Leah Schutt, “Characterization of a p-Cresidine-Induced Liver Injury Model in p53+/– Mice”
Training Inst (Mentors): University of Guelph (Drs. Tony Hayes and Patricia Turner)
Sponsor (Mentor): Genentech (Dr. Noël Dybdal)
9:20-9:40 am Dr. Janet Beeler-Marfisi, “Exacerbation of Recurrent Airway Obstruction in Horses”
Training Inst (Mentor): University of Guelph (Dr. Dorothee Bienzle)
Sponsor (Mentor): Merck (Dr. Michael Topper)
9:40-10:10 am Refreshment break
10:10-10:30 am Dr. Jana Ritter, “Gastric Neuroendocrine Tumors in Bearded Dragons” Training Inst (Mentor): Michigan State University (Dr. Scott Fitzgerald)
Sponsor (Mentor): Eli Lilly (Dr. Daniel Rudmann)
10:30-10:50 am Dr. Kathryn Boland, “Diagnosis of Two Poorly Differentiated Neoplasms”
Training Inst (Mentor): Washington State University (Dr. Tim Baszler)
Sponsor (Mentor): Amgen (Dr. Esther Trueblood)
10:50-11:10 am Dr. Melissa Sanchez, “Sphingosine-1-phosphate Receptor Target Tissue Characterization”
Training Inst (Mentor): University of Pennsylvania (Dr. Michael Goldschmidt)
Sponsor (Mentor): Pfizer (Dr. John Kreeger)
11:10-11:30 am Dr. Aaron Sargeant, “OSU-HDAC42, A Novel Histone Deacetylase Inhibitor, Blocks Prostate Tumorigenesis in the TRAMP Model”
Training Inst (Mentor): Ohio State University (Dr. Ching-Shih Chen)
Sponsor (Mentor): Schering-Plough (Dr. Mark Cartwright)
11:30-11:50 am Dr. Danielle Lewis Brown, “Atypical Thymic Hyperplasia in Mice in NTP Studies”
Training Inst (Mentor): North Carolina State University (Dr. John Cullen)
Sponsor (Mentor): sanofi-aventis (Dr. Michael Pino)
11:50 am-1:00 pm Lunch, Salon del Rey North Ballroom
1:00-1:20 pm Dr. Sandeep Akare, “Immunohistochemistry of Progressive Cardiomyopathy and Isoproterenol-Induced Myocardial Necrosis in Rats”
Training Inst (Mentor): University of Illinois (Dr. Matthew Wallig)
Sponsor (Mentor): GlaxoSmithKline (Dr. Richard Peterson)
1:20-1:40 pm Dr. Alicia Olivier, “Protective Effects of VEGF against RSV in Perinatal Lung”
Training Inst (Mentor): Iowa State University (Dr. Mark Ackermann)
Sponsor (Mentor): Bristol-Myers Squibb (Dr. Vito Sasseville)
1:40-2:00 pm Dr. Lyn Wancket, “Role of Hsp70 in Murine Pulmonary Influenza Infection”
Training Inst (Mentor): Ohio State University (Dr. Michael Oglesbee)
Sponsor (Mentor): Pfizer (Dr. Roberto Guzman)
2:00-2:20 pm Dr. Robert Johnson, “Feline Cerebral Mycosis”
Training Inst (Mentor): Purdue University (Dr. Stephen Lenz)
Sponsor (Mentor): Pfizer (Dr. James Hartke)
2:20-2:40 pm Dr. David Gardiner, “High Morbidity and Low Mortality in a Large Collection of Reptiles”
Training Inst (Mentors): Colorado State University (Drs. Gary Mason and EJ Ehrhart)
Sponsor (Mentor): GlaxoSmithKline (Dr. Bradley Hamilton)
2:40-3:10 pm Refreshment break
3:10-3:30 pm Dr. Torrie Crabbs, “Immunohistochemical Characterization of Renal Tubular and Collecting Ductular Topography in Cynomolgus Macaques”
Training Inst (Mentor): University of California - Davis (Dr. Linda Munson)
Sponsor (Mentor): GlaxoSmithKline (Dr. Justin Vidal)
3:30-4:30 pm

Joint Academia/Industry Presentation, “Challenges and Opportunities for the Pathologist in Industry and Academia”, Dr. Teresa Compton, Novartis

Panel Discussion, Drs. Michael Oglesbee (Ohio State University), Mark Ackermann (Iowa State University), Timothy Baszler (Washington State University), Heath Thomas (GlaxoSmithKline), Noël Dybdal (Genentech) and Pierre Tellier (Charles River Laboratories)

4:30-4:45 pm  Concluding Comments, Drs. Keith Harris (University of Georgia and Chair of the Coalition Board of Governors) and Gary Cockerell (Director of the Coalition)
5:00-6:00 pm Cocktail reception (spouses and guests invited), Salon del Rey North Ballroom